Search results for: marine pollution

Marine pollution as seen by ultrafast cameras

Marine pollution

Ultrafast cameras unveil processes that are invisible to the naked eye. At Mines Alès, Pierre Slangen, a specialist in applied optics, uses them to build advanced technology devices and thus to understand how gases and liquids are diffused during environmental disasters.     Certain physical phenomena occur in such small …

+

Marine oil pollution detected from space

oil pollution

Whether it is due to oil spills or cleaning out of tanks at sea, radar satellites can detect any oil slick on the ocean’s surface. Over 15 years ago, René Garello and his team from IMT Atlantique worked on the first proof of concept for this idea to monitor oil …

+

Decision support tools for maritime accident management

MANIFESTS

The European MANIFESTS project, launched in January, is a two-year project bringing together a consortium of nine research institutions and public administrations with complementary expertise in managing maritime accidents. Funded by the European Commission, this project aims to improve responses to emergencies related to these accidents. An interview with Laurent …

+

VIGISAT: monitoring and protection of the environment by satellite

vigisat, surveillance, environnement

Following on from our series on the platforms provided by the Télécom & Société numérique Carnot institute, we will now look at VIGISAT, based near Brest. This collaborative hub is also a project focusing on the satellite monitoring of oceans and continents in high resolution.   On 12th July, scientists …

+

Pierre Slangen

IMT Mines Alès | #environment #optic #marinepollution

+

Smarter models of the ocean

Photographie de l'océan

The ocean is a system that is difficult to observe, whose biodiversity and physical phenomena we still know very little about. Artificial intelligence could be an asset in understanding this environment better. Ronan Fablet, a researcher at IMT Atlantique, presents the projects of the new Océanix Research Chair. What is the objective? To …

+

Sand, an increasingly scarce resource that needs to be replaced

sable, sand

Humans are big consumers of sand, to the extent that this now valuable resource is becoming increasingly scarce. Being in such high demand, it is extracted in conditions that aren’t always respectful of the environment. With the increasing scarcity of sand and the sometimes devastating consequences of mining at beaches, …

+

Bioplastics: “still a long road to higher performance”

Bioplastics, Mines Douai

As required by environmental transition, materials of the future must be “greener”. Bioplastics in particular have become a main focus of attention, and are often presented as the solution to the pollution caused by the plastics we use every day, which can take hundreds of years to decompose. Patricia Krawczak, …

+

René Garello

IMT Atlantique | #remotesensing #signalprocessing #satellite #environment

+

Résultats de recherche pour: marine pollution

Les pollutions marines sous l’œil des caméras ultrarapides

Marine pollution

Les caméras ultrarapides permettent de dévoiler les phénomènes invisibles à l’œil nu. À Mines Alès, Pierre Slangen, le spécialiste en optique appliquée, les utilise pour monter des dispositifs de très haute technologie et comprendre ainsi comment se dispersent les gaz et les liquides lors d’accidents environnementaux.   Certains phénomènes physiques …

+

La pollution pétrolière en mer s’observe depuis l’espace

pollution pétrolière

Qu’il s’agisse de marées noires ou de dégazages volontaires, les nappes noires à la surface des océans ne passent pas inaperçues aux yeux radars des satellites. Il y a plus de 15 ans, René Garello et son équipe d’IMT Atlantique travaillaient sur les premières preuves de concept d’une telle surveillance …

+

Des outils d’aide à la décision dans la gestion des accidents maritimes

MANIFESTS, naufrage navire

Le projet européen MANIFESTS, lancé en janvier dernier pour une durée de deux ans, réunit un consortium de neuf instituts de recherche et administrations aux expertises complémentaires dans la gestion des accidents maritimes. Financé par la Commission européenne, ce projet a pour objectif d’améliorer la réponse aux urgences liées à …

+

Faire payer (plus) les entreprises pour qu’elles réduisent les emballages

Tribune publiée initialement sur The Conversation. Par Matthieu Glachant et Simon Touboul, Mines ParisTech.   Mettre sur le marché des produits conditionnés dans des emballages plus légers, plus faciles à trier et moins polluants semble une façon intelligente de réduire les déchets. La législation française place d’ailleurs la réduction à …

+

Le sable, une ressource rare qu’il faut remplacer

L’humanité est une grande consommatrice de sable, à tel point que cette ressource devenue précieuse est en voie de disparition. Très convoité, il est extrait dans des conditions parfois peu respectueuses de l’environnement. Face à cette raréfaction du sable, et aux conséquences parfois lourdes de son prélèvement sur nos plages, …

+

VIGISAT : la surveillance et la protection de l’environnement par satellite

vigisat, surveillance, environnement

Suite de notre série sur les plateformes de l’institut Carnot Télécom & Société numérique avec VIGISAT basée près de Brest. Cette station collaborative est aussi un projet dont la mission est le suivi satellite des océans et des continents en haute résolution.   Un iceberg de la taille de la Corrèze …

+

Bioplastiques : « la route vers la performance est encore longue »

Bioplastics, Mines Douai

Transition environnementale oblige, les matériaux de demain se doivent d’être plus « verts ». Les regards se tournent en particulier vers les bioplastiques, solution souvent avancée à la pollution induite par les plastiques qui nous entourent, et qui peuvent mettre des centaines d’années à se dégrader. Chercheuse à Mines Douai, Patricia Krawczak …

+

Pierre Slangen

IMT Mines Alès | #environnement #optique #pollutionmarine

+